Houston Center for Photography presents 32nd Annual Juried Membership Exhibition

1194054Featuring 37 artists from across the globe presenting works in HCP’s three galleries
OPENING RECEPTION: Friday, July 11, 2014, 6:00 pm–8:00 pm
JUROR REMARKS: Friday, July 11, 5:30 pm
ARTIST TALKS: Saturday, July 12, 11:00 am
EXHIBITION: July 12–September 7, 2014
HOUSTON, TX—Houston Center for Photography is proud to announce its 32nd Annual Juried Membership Exhibition and this year’s participants. JurorMalcolm Daniel, Curator in Charge of the Department of Photography and Curator of Special Projects at The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, selected 37 artists from the 285 whom submitted entries sent in from across the globe.

Those chosen, 12 of whom are  Texas-based artists, hail from all corners of the US, as well as South Korea. “I’ve selected work that I hope will make a varied but coherent exhibition while also representing the best examples of a wide array of approaches to the medium, from documentary photo essays to visual diaries and from nature photography to highly manipulated images,” said Daniel. “The three award winners—Anne Berry, Geoffrey Ellis, and Jeanine Michna-Bales—could not be more different from one another, but each presented a unique and compelling body of work.”

Lipsky_C-01Daniel will give remarks about the selections on Friday, July 11 beginning at 5:30 pm prior to the opening reception from 6:00 to 8:00 pm. Artist Talks with a group of this year’s participating artists will be held on Saturday, July 12 beginning at 11:00 a.m.

Three of the 38 selected artists—Anne Berry of Newnan, GA, Geoffrey Ellis of San Francisco, CA, and Jeanine Michna-Bales of Dallas, TX—received the Beth Block Juried Membership Honoraria, supported by The Beth Block Foundation that includes $500 and a feature within HCP’s publication SPOT.

One of HCP’s most diverse exhibitions of the year, the Annual Juried Membership Exhibition highlights the photographs of its national and international members. Now at a membership of over 1600, HCP’s members have been an integral part of its mission since 1981.

This year’s participating artists include:

Morgan Ashcom (Queens, NY)
Bruce Barshop (San Antonio, TX)
Amy Becker (Madison, NJ)
Anne Berry (Newnan, GA)
Sandy Carson (Austin, TX)
Sebastien Collett (Asheville, NC)
Ginger Cook (Paris, TX)
Hannah Cooper McCauley (Ruston, LA)
Adam Davies (Washington, DC)
Amy Davison (Rochester, NY)
John DuBois (Issaquah, WA)
Billy Dykes (Baytown, TX)
Geoffrey Ellis (San Francisco, CA)
Michael Ellison (Savannah, GA)
Robert Flatt (Houston, TX)
George Grubb (New York, NY)
Joshua Haunschild (Fort Worth, TX)
Carol Hayman (Austin, TX)
Christi Hellrung (Houston, TX)
Carl Henry (Houston, TX)
Brian Johnson (Broken Arrow, OK)
Sarah Jones (San Antonio, TX)
Kent Krugh (Fairfield, OH)
Tracy Lynch (Boerne, TX)
Sara Macel (Brooklyn, NY)
Timothy McCoy (Cumming, GA)
Jeanine Michna-Bales (Dallas, TX)
Matt Morris (Baton Rouge, LA)
Haley Morris-Cafiero (Cordova, TN)
Jackson Patterson (San Francisco, CA)
Beverly Peace (Winchester, VA)
Christine Pearl (Washington, DC)
Camilo Ramirez (Jamaica Plain, MA)
Brian Christopher Sargent (Brooklyn, NY)
Jae-Hee Schin (Seoul, South Korea)
Samantha VanDeman (Villa Park, IL)
Mitsu Toshikawa (San Francisco, CA)

*Juror Commendation awarded the Beth Block Juried Membership Honoraria, supported by The Beth Block Foundation.


HCP is located at 1441 West Alabama in the Museum District of Houston. Gallery hours are Wednesday–Thursday, 11 am–9 pm; Friday, 11 am–5 pm; and Saturday and Sunday, 11 am–7 pm. Closed Monday and Tuesday. For more information, please call 713.529.4755 or visit www.hcponline.org.

About the Houston Center for Photography
Connecting People with Photography

HCP’s mission is to increase society’s understanding and appreciation of photography and its evolving role in contemporary culture. HCP strives to encourage artists, build audiences, stimulate dialogue, and promote inquiry about photography and related media through education, exhibitions, publications, fellowship programs, and community collaboration. HCP is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization serving as a resource to its members and the community with programs that have regional and national impact.

Houston Center for Photography is supported by The Houston Endowment; City of Houston through the Houston Arts Alliance; The Brown Foundation; The Eleanor and Frank Freed Foundation; Meyer Levy Charitable Foundation; Simmons Foundation; Julie and Drew Alexander; Patricia J. Eifel and Jim Belli; Artists’ Framing Resource; Larson-Juhl; Antonio Manega, Gazer Design; JBD Foundation; Joe Aker; Deborah Bay and Edgar Browning; The John M. O’Quinn Foundation; Sterling-Turner Foundation; Poppi Massey; Howard Greenberg Gallery; Cemo Family Foundation; John D. Chaney; Barbara and Geoffrey Koslov; Art Colony Association; Frazier King; Gardere, Wynne, Sewell LLP; Celia and Jay Munisteri; Joan and Stanford Alexander; Charles Butt; Joan Morgenstern; Burt Nelson; Jereann Chaney; James E. Maloney; Sue and Bob Schwartz; Bob Gomel; Mid America Arts Alliance; The Joan Hohlt and Roger Wich Foundation; The Wortham Foundation, Inc.; Texas Commission on the Arts; Dornith Doherty; Jessica Todd Harper; Kathryn and Tim Lee; Whole Foods Market; Susan and Patrick Cook; Elizabeth and David Anders; Howard Hilliard and Betty Pecore; Renate Aller; Ballard Exploration Company Inc.; Lillian H. & C.W. Duncan Foundation; Paul M. Hertzmann, Inc.; Wendy and Mavis Kelsey, Jr.; Stuart C. Nelson FS; Amegy Bank; Catherine Couturier Gallery; Andy Freeberg; Mariquita Masterson; Muffy and Alexander K. McLanahan; Dixie Messner; Rocky Schenck; Mickey and Mike Marvins; Nena D. Marsh; Tatiana and Craig Massey; Brad Temkin; Lauren Marsolier; Rebecca Roof; Jim Dow; Natan Dvir; Sally and John Hopper; Joel Lederer; The GE Foundation; Rubi Lebovitch; Thomas Damsgaard; Cara and Jorge Barer; Keliy Anderson-Staley; Krista and Mike Dumas; Sherry and James Kempner; James R. Fisher; Aker Imaging; Kevin E. Bassler; Cameron International Corporation; Houston Camera Exchange; Jerry Reed; Robertson-Finley Foundation; Jeremy Underwood; QUE Imaging; Frank Sherwood White; John C. Lewis; Mike Stude; Bevin and Dan Dubrowski; Vadim Gushchin; Dodie Otey and Richard S. Jackson; Bob Gulley; Azita Panahpour; Bryan Schutmaat; Paul Smead; Eddie Allen and Chinhui Juhn; Gay Block; Stanford L. Dow; Martin Elkort; Kathleen Schmeler; Susan and Steve Solcher; Scott R. Sparvero; Tamara Staples; The Beth Block Foundation; Louis Vest; William Winkler; Eric Faust; Keith Carter; Libbie J. Masterson; ExxonMobil Foundation; Christopher Ashby; Janet and Roger Durand; Kelly and Norman Bering; Laura and Tom Bacon; Donna J. Wan; Corey Arnold; Carolyn Brown; Caleb Charland; Wyatt Gallery; Judy Haberl; Henry Horenstein; Manjari Sharma; Priscilla A. Kanady; Marisa Cigarroa Heymach; John H. Duncan, Jr.; Wallace Wilson; Anne Tucker; Marcia Patrick; Shelley Calton; Randy and Laurie Allen; Susan Burnstein; Michael Crouser; Joe Levit Family Foundation; Robert L. Gerry, III; Molly Hipp and Ford Hubbard, III; Leslie and Mark Hull, Fan and Peter Morris; J. Andrew Nairn; Dee Ann Pederson; Betsy and Charles Powell; Del Zogg.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: